MARK FLOOD I: THE HATEFUL YEARS

I hate parasitical art bureaucracies. I hate nonprofit organizations. I love willful rich people who are obsessed with art. The context always determines the meaning of a work of art (The New York Times, 6 July 2012).

The phenomenon of art fairs taking over the art world does not bother me. I find the brutality of the current art market refreshing, especially when compared with the hypocrisy of the museums, and the pretentiousness of the academic world. All the old art distinctions have broken down. Collectors are dealers. Consultants are curators. Galleries are museums and museums are auction houses (Art in America, 1 May 2014).

Leave a Reply

